Food for the Body. Food for the Mind. Food for the Soul.

Colors

I’m watching this perfect little creature I call Miss M engage in her passion at the dance academy as I write this. She is practicing a Lyrical dance set to the tune of True Colors by Cyndi Lauper. I find this to be ironic because I have always thought of this as M and I’s song. The reason for this being that when I was pregnant with her, WAY back when I was a weee 20 year old, a remake of this song (I believe it was by Phil Collins) was in heavy rotation on the radio… And since I was a whirling hormone tornado, I would cry every single time I heard it.

The cause of my tears was this overwhelming, all consuming love that I had for my unborn. I knew, even before meeting her, that no matter what she looked like, or what her personality was, or what she would grow up to be… I would accept her and love her unconditionally. I saw “her true colors shining through” before I had even met her.

She was the most beautiful thing I had never laid eyes on. Never before had I adored anything so much…. 12 years later, I still hold strong the belief that this little girl can do, be, or accomplish anything she so desires.

And so, here I am listening to this song again while witnessing this great love of my life dance her little heart out along with the words…”So don’t be afraid, to let them show. Your true colors, are beautiful like a rainbow”…

And I begin to wonder…

Why it is that we experience no struggle in loving those close to us yet, often times,  do not give ourselves the same level of love we painstakingly give them?

Why do we say things to ourselves that we would never fathom saying to someone we care for?

Why do we think they are capable of having the world, but don’t believe in ourselves enough to follow our own dreams?

Why can’t we accept ourselves with our idiosyncrasies and quirks, but praise the uniqueness of others?

What would happen if we gave ourselves permission to embrace our own true colors?
Leave a Reply

