Food for the Body. Food for the Mind. Food for the Soul.

rudimentary |ˌroōdəˈment(ə)rē| – involving or limited to basic principles

We all have certain items that we keep handy at most times in our kitchens. Staple items, if you will.

With the the Rudimentary Pantry (aka… Rudipantary) we will be hangin’ with some of these foodstuffs and coming up with some go-to-recipes for cheap & healthy eats in a pinch.

Rudipantary Item of the Day… Whole Wheat Flour

As I’m sure you are already well aware, whole grains are a kick-ass source of fiber and helps keep you full longer than the whitey versions.

Yesterday Miss M and I decided to make the simplest bread food known to man out of our whole wheat flour. Here is the extremely complicated and involved list of ingredients:

Whole Wheat Flour

Water

Yup… that’s it.

What we made is called Roti. It is an Indian flatbread for which I found the recipe (if you can really even call it that) on this bomb blog I recently ran across called Indian Simmer. (If you go there, you must promise not to ridicule my pics when you return… hers are GORG-EOUS)

I LOVE< LOVE< LOVE Indian Food, and this bread is no exception.

Here’s whatchya do:

  • add water to flour a little bit at a time until you achieve… DOUGH. (There really are no measurements here. You just want to end up with dough that is not sticky and not dry)
  • knead dough for 5-ish minutes
  • wrap dough in damp towelfor 10-ish minutes

    Roti Balls!

  • Then… make into little balls and roll them flat (about the thickness of a tortilla) I don’t have a rolling pin, so I used a tall water glass for rolling… worked great!

Rolled out Roti dough

Now for the FUN part…

Turn 2 oven burners to Medium heat.

Place a skillet on one and a rack on the other (I used my cooling rack, which is HUGE but whatever. It worked fine)

Throw the rolled out roti dough onto the skillet. Cook on each side for about 20 seconds, or until little bubbles appear.

Miss M & a skillet

Then you will move the Roti to the rack and cook briefly on both sides until slightly charred.

Your Roti will puff up into a “bread balloon”… M & I could have probably done this all day. It was too much fun!

Bread Balloon!

Slap some butter on that biz-nitch if that’s what you’re in to. I thought they were delicious just plain… M decided the addition of butter, cinnamon & sugar was required. You could also add some garlic. That would be tasty.

Or heck! turn your Roti into a sam-ich wrap… this may be bastardizing the Roti, but it’s your rudipantary eat… do whatchya like!

YUM!

I put the unused dough balls in a zippy and threw in the freezer… for bread balloons at the ready!

Comments on: "Rudimentary Pantry aka… The Rudipantary" (9)

  1. Those bread balloons look awesome.

    • You should make them… they’re SUPER fun.
      P.S. Can’t wait to see what sort of foodstuffs you come up with for your guest post!

      • I should have documented by red beans and rice extravaganza yesterday. I just had some leftovers for lunch. Best batch yet. So hard to document that considering I don’t use any recipe so it is constantly evolving. Heck, I don’t even know how long I actually cook it for. I go by results. If it needs longer, I cook it longer..

      • Ooooh, red beans & rice… yes please. I need a good recipe for that. You should DEFINITELY give us your guidelines. Plus, it would fit right into The Rudipantary!
        Beans and rice are super staples!!
        (and now I am envisioning a Red Bean in a super-hero cape fighting kitchen crime with his side-kick Rice Grain)

      • Yesterday’s included: Diced: Whole Red Bell, Whole Green Chile, Red Onion; Sautee in diced bacon (3 Strips). Add beans (after being soaked all night) and water 2-3 inches over beans. Stir in salt, pepper, garlic, worcestershire, cholula, chili garlic cholula, cumin, smoked spanish paprika, I think that is it. Boil, boil, boil (covered, stirring every 20-25 min; probably for 2.5 hrs?). Dice a smoked sausage (think Hillshire Farms) add. Boil for another 45-60 min? Add more water if needed for next step. When bean consistency awesome, add in um, 2 cups? of instant rice. Boil, stirring consistently so rice and beans don’t burn, for 5-10 minutes, add more seasonings if need be. Does all that make sense? Really, it is just throwing things in the pot. Hard to type out.

      • It wouldn’t let me reply to your needing a red beans and rice post. I did put a quicky post up in my comment but I will definitely document (actually write down notes of what I am doing and take pictures so I can send to you in an entry) next time.

        Btw- I bought lentils this weekend. Any thoughts? I have only ever eaten them, not made them. My neighbors make a lentil-loaf (kind of like meatloaf) and it was awesome.

      • That would be awesome!

        As far as lentils are concerned… I have a bag of them in my pantry, but have never actually made anything with them. It’s on my to-do list! i know that one of my favorite Indian soups, Mulligatawny, is made from lentils but I haven’t found a good recipe for it yet.
        Let me know if you come up with anything good.

  2. Im going to give this a try tonight! Maybe some garlic and basil with olive oil on top…mmm. Ive never heard of these!

    • I heart olive oil! and garlic! and basil!
      Ya know… now that I think about it, you could even make throw on some sliced tomato and broil them to turn’em into little thin “crust” margherita type pizzas.
      Way to combine cultural foods, right? Indian-Italian cuisine. Love it.

Leave a Reply

